Domonique Foxworth elected NFLPA president

Street Talk Domonique Foxworth elected NFLPA president

Posted in Street Talk
Print this article

PALM BEACH, Fla. — Despite ongoing knee problems that prematurely ended his tenure with the Baltimore Ravens, former University of Maryland cornerback Domonique Foxworth isn’t completely done with the game of football.

An influential member of the NFL Players Association executive committee, Foxworth was elected without opposition as the new president of the players’ union Sunday during a board of player representatives meetings in Marco Island, Fla.

Foxworth spent most of last season on injured reserve due to complications from his torn anterior cruciate ligament suffered two years ago one day prior to training camp at McDaniel College.

Cut by the Ravens rather than pay him a $5.6 million base salary next season, Foxworth replaces retiring NFLPA president Kevin Mawae.

"One of the most important things I learned from Kevin is about responsibility," Foxworth said in a statement. "“Players like to say, ‘‘The NFLPA is our organization.’’ There is a wealth of experience and talent in this room, and I will reach out to each and every one of you about your interests and passions. If we work as hard as we did during the lockout now in peacetime, we will be the strongest organization in the world.”"

Foxworth was a player rep with the Denver Broncos and was elected the youngest vice president of the NFLPA executive committee four years ago.

The NFLPA elected the following players to the executive committee:“ quarterback Matt Hasselbeck (Tennessee Titans), offensive tackle Matt Light (New England Patriots), offensive guard Brandon Moore (New York Jets) and tight end Ben Watson (Cleveland Browns).

Quarterback Charlie Batch (Pittsburgh Steelers), quarterback Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints), safety Brian Dawkins (Denver Broncos), linebacker Scott Fujita (Cleveland Browns), center Jeff Saturday (Green Bay Packers) and offensive guard Brian Waters (New England Patriots) were re-elected to the executive committee.

So, Mawae, Sean Morey, Tony Richardson and Mike Vrabel leave the executive committee.

With the 2012 election, Kevin Mawae, Sean Morey, Tony Richardson and Mike Vrabel cycle off the NFLPA Executive Committee.

"We don’t take on roles of leadership in order to pad our stats, build our resumes, or strengthen our positions,"” Mawae said. “"We become leaders so that we can serve others who themselves don’t yet have the wherewithal, the knowledge, or the experience to lead. We don’t coerce, manipulate, or force. We simply serve."


Facebook Comments
Share This  
Aaron Wilson

About Aaron Wilson

Aaron Wilson covers the NFL for National Football Post as well as the Baltimore Ravens for The Carroll County Times and He has previously covered the Jacksonville Jaguars and Tennessee Titans and has covered the NFL since 1997.  He has won several regional writing awards, including, most recently, Best Sports News Story for the state of Maryland in voting conducted by the Associated Press managing editors.  More from Aaron Wilson


Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

Get More Information