Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 38

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?



    I mean, I was unaware that he had had it removed and then reattached to his right kidney. How did they do it and how did he recover so quickly?




  2. #2

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    The refs are calling just about every violent hit now when a receiver is in the air and gets whacked.. It's just mind boggling though that 4 refs had a long discussion about it and then came in with the "leading with the helmet" nonsense. They could have just called it defenseless receiver and been done with it and people would have shook their heads and moved on. But "leading with the helmet" followed by a replay showing Pollard hitting a guy with the BACK of his ribcage? Nonsense.




  3. #3

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Nonsense is the nicest way to put it. Hitting a guy in the side with your kidney is now a penalty. Pathetic, and it was a huge call.




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hazzard County
    Posts
    1,106

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    That call was utter horse shit. Thank god we won....despite that (and other) bullshit calls.




  5. #5

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrUnk View Post
    That call was utter horse shit. Thank god we won....despite that (and other) bullshit calls.
    Now, now. I'm still slightly of the belief that Rice may have been centimeters short on his godly fourth down run.




  6. #6

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Quote Originally Posted by akashicrecorder View Post
    Now, now. I'm still slightly of the belief that Rice may have been centimeters short on his godly fourth down run.
    Probably, but he out ran all the sideline refs. They did the best they could. Calling a guy for hitting a guy with his back is utter bullshit.




  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hamilton/Parkville, MD
    Posts
    2,060

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Quote Originally Posted by akashicrecorder View Post
    Now, now. I'm still slightly of the belief that Rice may have been centimeters short on his godly fourth down run.
    I think it was closer than the 33 1/2 line. I think the closest he made was the 34, making the measurement a lot closer than it was.




  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Hazzard County
    Posts
    1,106

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Quote Originally Posted by akashicrecorder View Post
    Now, now. I'm still slightly of the belief that Rice may have been centimeters short on his godly fourth down run.
    That was slightly iffy, but the Pollard call....C'mon man!




  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Greensboro, North Carolina
    Posts
    4,250
    Blog Entries
    2

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Quote Originally Posted by akashicrecorder View Post
    Now, now. I'm still slightly of the belief that Rice may have been centimeters short on his godly fourth down run.
    I thought he had it. I didn't see anything to suggest otherwise.




  10. #10

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    I thought you could get a "defenseless receiver" call without the "leading with the helmet" part, but Steratore specifically said Pollard led with his helmet. Which he clearly did not.

    That was a bad call and discouraging the hard, clean play that I think is what the league office should want.
    Festivus

    His definitions and arguments were so clear in his own mind that he was unable to understand how any reasonable person could honestly differ with him.




  11. #11

    Re: When did Pollard have his head surgically removed and the rettached?

    Quote Originally Posted by festivus View Post
    I thought you could get a "defenseless receiver" call without the "leading with the helmet" part, but Steratore specifically said Pollard led with his helmet. Which he clearly did not.

    That was a bad call and discouraging the hard, clean play that I think is what the league office should want.
    It's pretty much an automatic fine now when you get flagged for hitting with the helmet. Hopefully the league reviews the play and Pollard avoids a fine.




  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    24,883
    Blog Entries
    3
    I dont like the call, but I dislike Pollard's negligence even more. That was a completely unnecessary hit. The receiver was on his way out of bounds and the pass had sailed over his head.

    That type if negligence against the Patriots could mean the difference in a win and a loss.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using Forum Runner
    Milk is for babies. When you grow up, you have to drink beer.

    -Arnold Schwarzenegger


    My RSR Blog:
    http://russellstreetreport.com/author/paullukoskie/

    Check out Fatherhood Rules - a blog site dedicated to sports, food, music, movies, and politics.
    http://fatherhoodrules.com




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Russell Street Report Website Design by D3Corp Ocean City Maryland