Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 12 of 106

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Right Where I need to be
    Posts
    1,254

    Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!



    Who was the eligible reciever???

    Loss of down and yards.




  2. #2

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by RavensQB View Post
    Who was the eligible reciever???

    Loss of down and yards.
    I said the same thing though I had no expectation that they would even think about that after having to go back and review such a blatantly obvious play to begin with.




  3. #3

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    I am thinking that MAYBE just MAYBE there was a receiver on the side close to the line of scrimmage and they gave him the benefit of the doubt because he was hit while throwing. That or they totally screwed the pooch on the call...




  4. #4

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    It was horrendous to call it a fumble to begin with - THE BALL WENT FORWARD. They had their head up their ass so far with the fumble review that I doubt they even thought to call the intentional grounding.
    Q: What's Lee Evans' favorite song?
    A: "Drop it like it's hot."




  5. #5

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    Technically, Vick was outside the Tackle Box. However, he didn't have an eligible receiver anyways.

    The whole play was such a clusterfuck that I don't think anyone really know what was going on. The grounding got lost in the 20 minute conference the refs had.




  6. #6

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    and to think, it wasn't even the worst mistake the refs made in that game.




  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Wilton, CT
    Posts
    11,952
    Blog Entries
    7

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by CptJesus View Post
    Technically, Vick was outside the Tackle Box. However, he didn't have an eligible receiver anyways.

    The whole play was such a clusterfuck that I don't think anyone really know what was going on. The grounding got lost in the 20 minute conference the refs had.
    If he was outside the tackle box he didn't need to have an eligible receiver. In that case it just needs to get to the line of scrimmage, which it did. I don't think Vick was outside the tackle box which it why he had to throw it to a receiver
    He Who Dares.....Wins




  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Where Ravens Fans Roam Free
    Posts
    1,894

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by GOTA View Post
    If he was outside the tackle box he didn't need to have an eligible receiver. In that case it just needs to get to the line of scrimmage, which it did. I don't think Vick was outside the tackle box which it why he had to throw it to a receiver
    The line of scrimage was the 1 yard line. Vick's pass did not make it back to the line of scrimage. He was getting hit as he was throwing the ball though. I don't know if that matters in whether or not intentional grounding is called.




  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    shrewsbury, pa
    Posts
    310

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    Quote Originally Posted by GOTA View Post
    If he was outside the tackle box he didn't need to have an eligible receiver. In that case it just needs to get to the line of scrimmage, which it did. I don't think Vick was outside the tackle box which it why he had to throw it to a receiver
    It bounced the the line of scrimmage. It hit on the 5 and bounced to the 2. The line was the one.




  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    baltimore
    Posts
    2,589
    I thought that when a QB makes a throw outside the tackle box he still has to get the ball to the line of scrimmage? Did Vick do that?

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2




  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,010
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Arm going Forwad, Hmmm Intentional Grounding!?!?!?!

    I really don't think it is worth constantly hollering about this one. The Jones TD was the egregious call that really did it for the Ravens.




  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Houston, TX Y'all
    Posts
    21,196
    Quote Originally Posted by GOTA View Post
    If he was outside the tackle box he didn't need to have an eligible receiver. In that case it just needs to get to the line of scrimmage, which it did. I don't think Vick was outside the tackle box which it why he had to throw it to a receiver
    Agreed.

    And compound the fact it was originally a fumble. Once the play was ruled a fumble, they cannot then go under the hood and call grounding based on the replay.

    It was such a bang bang play I don't think the regular refs would have made a different call.
    WARNING: This post may contain material offensive to those who lack wit, humor, common sense and/or supporting factual or anecdotal evidence. All statements and assertions contained herein may be subject to literary devices not limited to: irony, metaphor, allusion and dripping sarcasm.




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Russell Street Report Website Design by D3Corp Ocean City Maryland